LINKS

Places where we teach classes:

Acupuncture Healing Center 109 Conner Dr, Ste 103, Chapel Hill www.acupuncturehealingcenter.org/carmelamager.htm/
Balanced Movement Studio, 304 Weaver St, 2nd floor, Carrboro, 942-0240 www.balanced-movement.com
Ninth Street Dance, 1920 1/2 Perry St, Durham, 286-6011 www.ninthstreetdance.com
UNC Wellness Center at Meadowmont, 100 Sprunt St, Chapel Hill 966-5500 www.uncwellness.com
Duke Center for Living, 3475 Erwin Rd, Durham www.dukecenter.org
Page-Walker Arts and History Center, 119 Ambassador Loop, Cary www.townofcary.org/depts/prdept/facilities/pwhome.htm
Mebane Yoga Center, Mebane NC (Lynda Stinson) www.mebaneyoga.com
Ladd Family Martial Arts, 7340 Creedmoor Rd, Stonehenge Shopping Ctr. See www.laddkarate.net
Chapel Hill Doctors Integrative Health Center, 2nd Floor Boyd Hall, Vilcom Center, Chapel Hill www.chapelhilldoctors.com/directions.php

Friends and Associates:

Amy Benevento, Red Sun Academy, Raleigh NC http://www.redsunacademy2.com/TaiChi_files/TaiChi/TaiChi.html
Adam Benjamin, Taijiquan teacher and dance specialist www.adambenjamin.co.uk
Nell Chandler, Jewelry & Fine Arts. www.nellchandler.com
Candy Conino, Feldenkrais® Method Practitioner, Asst. Trainer, NC www.petaporter.com/index.html
Carmela Mager, L.Ac., Acupuncture Healing Center 109 Conner Dr, Ste 103, Chapel Hill www.acupuncturehealingcenter.org/carmelamager.htm
Dug Corpolongo, Lotus Dragon KungFu and Tai Chi, Albuquerque NM   http://www.lotusdragon.com/
Joshua Craig NYC www.artemis-seminars.com/
Barbara Davis (Minneapolis) editor of Taijiquan Journal and author of The Taijiquan Classics: an Annotated Translation, and translator of Chen Weiming's Taiji Sword and Other Writings: www.taijiquanjournal.com
Michael DeMolina, Northern Dragon Internal Arts, Anchorage, Alaska. www.wisdomtraditions.us. Chairman of Board, National Qigong Association nqa.org.
Karen Dold and Nancy Agnew, Feldenkrais® Method Practitioners, NC www.movewithelan.com
Paul “Mr. Paul” Gallagher, Total Tai Chi Academy, Asheville, NC www.totaltaichi.com
Kim Ivy & Ken Wright: Taijiquan & Qigong in Seattle www.embracethemoon.com
John Loupos, “Jade Forest,” Cohasset MA www.jfkungfu.com/indexa.html
Nina Maier, Taiji and Bagua Custom Jewelry www.onemoon.net
Lisa B. O'Shea, Qigong Institute of Rochester (NY) www.qigongrochester.com
Dr. John Painter, Jiulong Baguazhang, The Gompa, American Rangers www.thegompa.com, www.jiulongbaguazhang.com Triangle Jiulong Baguazhang Study Group (North Carolina) www.trianglebagua.com
Christopher Pei & Zhang Guifeng: Falls Church VA, Gaithersburg MD www.uswushuacademy.com
Pei Shifu Warren Pretlow, Oriental Healing Arts Center, Anchorage, Alaska. www.touchoftao.com
Pat Rice, A Taste of China, Winchester VA www.atoctaijiquan.com
David Shaver, Peaceful Wolf Taijiquan, East Haddam CT www.peacefulwolftaichi.com
Ms. Shijun Naour, Chinese language teacher, Chapel Hill NC:
http://www.funeducational.net/
Three Treasures Health Center, Athens OH. Frances Lea Gander, L.Ac., BA, MFA, Dipl.Ac., Director and Head Instructor http://home.frognet.net/~threetreasures/
Canadian Taijiquan Federation http://64.177.202.212/
Chapel Hill/Carrboro Tae Kwon Do www.chctaekwondo.com/
Taijiquan Club (based in PA) www.taijiquanclub.com

Tournament Related:

See the article "The Tao of T'ai Chi Tournament Competition" by Michael R. Pekor (2003 and 2004 USCKF Push-Hand Grand Champion), on this website: http://www.caringhandstaichi.com.
CACMA, Mint Hill Kungfu www.mhkungfu.com
Rick Panico, Hung Gar Kung Fu, Sponsor of the Fall Classic in Mooresville NC http://hgkfa.tripod.com/Events.htm

Other sites of Interest:

Norman Smith, supplier of “superior” martial arts supplies! http://www.superiormartialarts.com/supplies.html
Chinese language, dictionary, classics www.zhongwen.com
Tai Chi Network www.taichinetwork.org
Shifu Mike Patterson's directory of U.S. Neijia teachers: www.hsing-i.com/teachers/
Bill Douglas. His site provides national and international listings and general information about Tai Chi & Qigong: http://www.worldtaichiday.org
Dr. Jay's study of the connections between Tantrix and the Yi Jing: http://www.magictortoise.com/tantrix.htm

Knife and Tomahawk Throwing:

Scott Gracia's “The Great Throwzini” website-- http://www.throwzini.com. Most comprehensive, “must-visit-often” site on knife throwing, including listings of “Local Throwers” for each state. For Scott's Free 101 Knife Throwing Tips Info-Pak and to receive the free Great Throwzini! Newsletter (on-line), go to: http://www.throwzini.com/freetips.html
International Knife Throwers Hall of Fame Assoc. (Mike Bainton Ph.D., Austin TX) http://www.ikthof.com
Good tomahawks, around $30. http://www.fortturner.com/

Family Connections

Dr. Jay's daughter Katharine (UNC '06) was Music Director of the Loreleis, a women's a cappella group: http://www.loreleis.com
Dr. Jay's cousin Fayssoux is a wonderful bluegrass/country music singer and guitarist: http://www.fayssouxmusic.com/
Fayssoux's daughter is a talented artist and jeweler: http://www.sarashandmadejewelry.com/
Kathleen's family has a "rite of passage"-- hiking to the summit of Yosemite's Half Dome: http://www.magictortoise.com/halfdome.htm
 
 
The Magic Tortoise Taijiquan School
c/o Dr. Jay Dunbar, Director
15 Timberlyne Road
Chapel Hill, NC 27514-1522
919.968.3936